skip to Main Content

Ethan Vernon of QuickStep-AlphaVinyl won stage 5 of the Volta a Catalunya to Vilanova i la Geltrú after João Almeida (UAE Team Emirates) and Nairo Quintana (Arkea-Samsic) clashed in the late intermediate sprint as they fought for every second and the overall race lead.

The 21-year-old British sprinter had the power and speed to sprint down the centre of the road to hold off his rivals. It was his first victory just three months into his professional career.

Phil Bauhaus (Bahrain Victorious) was second and Dorian Godon (AG2R Citroën) was third.

Almeida managed to finish third in the late intermediate sprint. He finished safely in the peloton and so took the leader’s white and green jersey from Quintana. The Colombian is now one second behind, with Sergio Higuita (Bora-Hansgrohe) third at seven seconds.

More to follow…

Filter your search results for Keywords:
£  to £ 
Image of Memory Map Explorer 1:25,000 Ordnance Survey Map 2015 - Sale

Memory Map Explorer 1:25,000 Ordnance Survey Map 2015 - Sale

The Memory Map Explorer is the best possible outdoor map for harder walks and off-road riding. It transforms your PC/devices into the ultimate GPS system and it shows footpaths, bridleways and other rights of way along with thousands of points of interest! The 1:25,000 map is an intuitive and easy-to-use...

Previous |  1  2  3  4  5  6  | Next

Brief Results
Pos. Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Ethan Vernon (GBr) Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 5:21:17
2 Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Bahrain Victorious
3 Dorian Godon (Fra) AG2R Citroen Team
4 Guillaume Boivin (Can) Israel-Premier Tech
5 Kaden Groves (Aus) BikeExchange-Jayco
6 Martin Laas (Est) Bora-Hansgrohe
7 Manuel Peñalver Aniorte (Spa) Burgos-BH
8 Ivo Oliveira (Por) UAE Team Emirates
9 Hugo Hofstetter (Fra) Arkea-Samsic
10 Guillaume Martin (Fra) Cofidis

General classification after stage 5
Pos. Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 João Almeida (Por) UAE Team Emirates 22:26:09
2 Nairo Quintana (Col) Arkea-Samsic 0:00:01
3 Sergio Higuita Garcia (Col) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:07
4 Juan Ayuso Pesquera (Spa) UAE Team Emirates 0:00:18
5 Wout Poels (Ned) Bahrain Victorious
6 Ben O’Connor (Aus) AG2R Citroen Team
7 Tobias Halland Johannessen (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team 0:00:21
8 Guillaume Martin (Fra) Cofidis 0:00:24
9 Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Ineos Grenadiers 0:00:27
10 George Bennett (NZl) UAE Team Emirates 0:00:57
SOURCE: CyclingNews   (go to source)
AUTHOR: Stephen Farrand Alasdair Fotheringham
All copyrights for this article, including images, are reserved to the original source and/or creator(s).
Back To Top