Already, we have a report of a DNS… Former winner Alexander Kristoff (Uno-X Mobility) did not start this morning. 

The riders have started the neutral start. There is 5.3km of neutral before kilometre zero. The race is due to start in five minutes time. 

Just under 20 minutes until the flag drops and we start racing. 

The weather is glorious at the start. 

See more

Looking at the weather in the start of Ypres today and it is largely dry but very windy. This could be a perfect day for echelons. 

Who can forget this iconic moment of Geraint Thomas being blown off the road?

Winner of Milan-Sanremo and the Classic Brugge-De Panne, Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck), makes his return to racing after skipping the E3 Saxo Classic on Friday. 

With the form he has been showing, do not be surprised if he comes out on top yet again today.

There are five previous winners riding today:

2009 winner – Edvald Boasson Hagen (DAT)
2014 winner – John Degenkolb (DFP)
2019 winner – Alexander Kristoff (UXM)
2020 winner – Mads Pedersen (LTK)
2022 winner – Biniam Girmay (IWA) 

While we wait for the race to start, why not have a look through some articles currently in the newsroom? Perfect with a morning coffee before the racing starts. Click the links below…

>>> ‘It was a stupid mistake’ – Crash proves costly for Wout van Aert at E3 Harelbeke

>>> ‘Why not?’ – Oier Lazkano not afraid to take on the best at the cobbled Classics

>>> Cancellara’s Classics column: Don’t overlook the mental aspect of the Van der Poel-Van Aert duel

>>> ‘I thought he was going to close’ – Van der Poel fends off Van Aert at E3 Saxo Classic in perfect start to cobbled Classics

>>> ‘A day of bad luck’ – Matteo Jorgenson and Visma endure rough E3 Saxo Classic

>>> Stuyven, Lidl-Trek delighted with second behind ‘on another level’ Van der Poel at E3 

The defending champion, Christophe Laporte (Visma-Lease-a-Bike) will not, in fact, be defending his title as he is still recovering from illness. 

Wout Van Aert is also not in attendance as the top two from last year focus on recovery and bigger goals.

Visma-Lease-a-Bike will be pinning their hopes on Dutch sprinter, Olav Kooij, instead. With Omloop winner, Jan Tratnik as well as Tiesj Benoot as potentially key back-up.

Hello and welcome to Cycling News’ live coverage of Gent-Wevelgem!