Skip to content
National Track Championships 2024: Lora Fachie and Corrine Hall win second title in two days

Lora Fachie and pilot Corrine Hall won their second gold in as many days at the National Track Championships in Manchester.

The two-time Paralympic champions defeated Sophie Unwin and Jenny Holl in the women’s Para B pursuit.

It completed their double, having pipped world champions Unwin and Holl to gold in Friday’s time trial.

Lauren Bell and Will Perrett were among the other British champions crowned on day two at the National Cycling Centre.

“This isn’t the most important race we’ll do this year by any means, but having confidence going into races really helps,” Fachie told BBC Sport after her victory with Hall.

The Para-cycling Track World Championships are coming up in March, before the Paris Paralympics take centre stage in late summer.

“We don’t want to get complacent, our job’s not done here,” Fachie added, “but it’s a stepping stone and shows that we’re going in the right direction.”

Earlier, Bell defeated 2022 champion Rhian Edmunds in the women’s sprint final, having not dropped a match sprint in any round.

“I came in with the goal of having fun riding my bike,” said Bell, a two-time world medallist in the team sprint.

“A lot of time with races, I put a lot of pressure on myself, so I just came here and was enjoying myself.”

Perrett defended his points race title from 2023, gaining three laps to win by a 42-point margin.

Speaking after the 120-lap points race, Perrett, the 2023 European omnium bronze medallist, said: “It hit that point you could tell people’s legs were tired, so it was time to go.

“I got about halfway round and thought ‘why did I do this?’. In three weeks’ time, I’ve got the Hong Kong Nations Cup and that’s what I’m training towards.

“It feels as though I’m lacking a bit of zip but I’m clearly very fit and strong so hopefully [in the] next couple of weeks I’ll keep building and gain that speed.”

SOURCE: BBC Sport RSS   (go to source)
All copyrights for this article, including images, are reserved to the original source and/or creator(s).
Back To Top