skip to Main Content

Elisa Longo Borghini rode for Trek-Segafredo

Elisa Longo Borghini won the Women’s Tour by a second after finishing stage six in third place.

The Italian went into the concluding stage of the tour sharing the overall lead with Australian Grace Brown after winning stage five.

And Longo Borghini claimed the overall victory by sealing third with Brown only managing 12th in Oxford.

Filter your search results for Keywords:
£  to £ 
Image of Memory Map Explorer 1:25,000 Ordnance Survey Map 2015 - Sale

Memory Map Explorer 1:25,000 Ordnance Survey Map 2015 - Sale

The Memory Map Explorer is the best possible outdoor map for harder walks and off-road riding. It transforms your PC/devices into the ultimate GPS system and it shows footpaths, bridleways and other rights of way along with thousands of points of interest! The 1:25,000 map is an intuitive and easy-to-use...

Previous |  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  | Next

Dutch rider Lorena Wiebes took stage six victory with France’s Clara Copponi clinching second position.

The final stage had seen a leading trio of Ane Iversen, Mieke Kroger and Alessia Patuelli pull clear of a chasing group, led by Team DSM, that was some 30 seconds back with around 20km to go.

However, the pack caught the breakaway with five kilometres left to set up a bunch sprint with Wiebes edging out Copponi and Longo Borghini.

Longo Borghini said: “This is a big relief to win this race because it has been a strange spring for me. Now I am back to my normal level.

“Also, it’s nice to win an overall classification, this has not happened to me many times in my life. It’s only the third tour I have won and this one is up there as one that ranks high.”

Stage six result

1. Lorena Wiebes (Ned/Team DSM) 3hrs 38mins 15secs

2. Clara Copponi (Fra/FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope) same time

3. Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita/Trek-Segafredo)

4. Tereza Neumanova (Cze/Liv Racing Xstra)

5. Barbara Guarischi (Ita/Movistar)

6. Charlotte Kool (Ned/Team DSM)

7. Maike van der Duin (Ned/Le Col-Woo)

8. Arianna Fidanza (Ita/Team BikeExchange-Jayco)

9. Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita/Ceratizit)

10. Christine Majerus (Lux/SD Worx)

Final general classification

1. Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita/Trek-Segafredo) 19hrs 19mins 7secs

2. Grace Brown (Aus/FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope) +1secs

3. Kasia Niewiadoma (Pol/Canyon/SRAM Racing) +5secs

4. Alex Manly (Aus/Team BikeExchange-Jayco) +24secs

5. Ashleigh Moolman (SA/SD Worx) +32secs

6. Elise Chabbey (Swi/Canyon/SRAM Racing) +49secs

7. Kristen Faulkner (US/Team BikeExchange-Jayco) +54secs

8. Veronica Ewers (US/EF Education-TIBCO-SVB) +1min 45secs

9. Sofia Bertizzolo (Ita/UAE Team ADQ) +1min 50secs

10. Mikayla Harvey (NZ/Canyon/SRAM Racing) +1min 56secs

SOURCE: BBC Sport – Cycling RSS   (go to source)
All copyrights for this article, including images, are reserved to the original source and/or creator(s).
Back To Top